FUN FACT|| Absa Is A Merger Of These Four Banks

Absa was founded in 1991 via the merging of 4 financial service providers including:

  • United Bank
  • Allied Bank
  • Volkskas Bank
  • Trust Bank

5 Entrepreneurs Who Used The R350 Grant To Start Their Businesses

This unionship was called the Amalgamated Banks Of South Africa.


For 7 years, each of these banks operated under their own name until 1998, when they were fused into one single financial service provider, and the name was abbreviated to Absa.

Get South Africa’s latest entrepreneurial or business success stories delivered right to your inbox – Sign up to Entrepreneur Hub SA’s newsletter today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *